How many categories of depression does the DSM-5 recognize?

It is a modified version of the DSM episode severity specifier: (1) no or almost no depressive symptoms; (2) subthreshold; (3) mild; (4) moderate; and (5) severe.

What are the diagnostic criteria for MDD?

Fatigue or loss of energy. Feelings of worthlessness. Diminished ability to think or concentrate; indecisiveness. Recurrent thoughts of death, recurrent suicidal ideation without a specific plan, or a suicide attempt or specific plan for committing suicide.

What is major depressive disorder unspecified?

Code F32. 9 is the diagnosis code used for Major Depressive Disorder, Single Episode, Unspecified. It is a mental condition marked by ongoing feelings of sadness, despair, loss of energy, and difficulty dealing with normal daily life.

Is there a difference between MDD and depression?

Clinical depression is the more-severe form of depression, also known as major depression or major depressive disorder. It isn’t the same as depression caused by a loss, such as the death of a loved one, or a medical condition, such as a thyroid disorder.

WHO ICD-10 major depression?

Code F33. 1 is the diagnosis code used for Major Depressive Disorder (MDD), Recurrent, Moderate. It is a mental disorder characterized by a pervasive and persistent low mood that is accompanied by low self-esteem and by a loss of interest or pleasure in normally enjoyable activities.

What is the DSM V diagnosis?

Axis I

  • Axis II
  • Axis III
  • Axis IV
  • Axis V
  • What are the DSM 5 symptoms of depression?

    These are some other major components in the DSM-V criteria for Major Depressive Disorder: One of the common symptoms is intense feelings of sadness. Other symptoms include feeling hopeless, worthless, or helpless; losing interest in activities that you used to enjoy, experiencing changes in your appetite or weight, sleeping too much or not enough.

    What is DSM IV criteria for depression?

    What is DSM IV criteria for depression? Diagnostic criteria: Depressed mood most of the day for more days than not, for at least 2 years, and the presence of two or more of the following symptoms that cause clinically significant impairment in social, work, or other important areas of functioning: 1. Poor appetite or overeating.

    What are DSM IV disorders?

    DSM-IV codes are the classification found in the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 4th Edition, Text Revision, also known as DSM-IV-TR, a manual published by the American Psychiatric Association (APA) that includes almost all currently recognized mental health disorders. The DSM-IV codes are thus used by mental health professionals to describe the features of a given