What premierships were removed from Melbourne Storm?

The Storm have won four premierships since their inception, in 1999, 2012, 2017 and 2020, and have contested several more grand finals, but were stripped of the 2007 and 2009 premierships following salary cap breaches.

Who won the 2009 NRL grand final?

Melbourne Storm Parramatta Eels
2009 NRL Grand Final

Melbourne Storm Parramatta Eels
23 16

What happened to the Melbourne Storm in 2010?

On 22 April 2010, the Melbourne Storm were stripped of their titles of 2007 and 2009 premierships and their 2006, 2007 and 2008 minor premierships following an alleged insider tip-off to the NRL auditing body that the club had not been complying with the NRL salary cap.

What is the highest score ever in NRL?


Record Amount Season
Most points scored in a match 74 points Aug 23rd, 2003 – Parramatta vs. Cronulla
74 points Aug 10th, 2008 – Canberra vs. Penrith
72 points Aug 7th, 2004 – Penrith vs. Manly
Most tries scored in a match 19 tries May 11th, 1935 – St George vs. Canterbury

Who is Big Stiffy Smithy?

This Pay TV advertisement features the NRL player Brandon Smith introducing himself as “Big Stiffy Smithy”.

Do Melbourne storms cheat?

Appearing at Melbourne Victory’s business lunch, Smith said his team “thoroughly deserved” their premierships despite having two stripped over a salary cap cheating scandal. Smith retired after helping the Storm take out the 2020 premiership despite being based in Queensland due to the coronavirus pandemic.

How many points did the Melbourne Storm win in 2009?

2009 Melbourne Storm season NRL Rank 4th Play-off result Grand Final Winners 2009 record Wins: 14; Draws: 1; Losses: 9 Points scored For: 505; Against: 348

What happened to the Melbourne Storm in the 2010 NRL Grand Final?

The Melbourne Storm led 10–0 at halftime and fought off a Parramatta comeback to eventually win 23–16 and claim their third premiership since entering the competition. This has since been stripped due to salary cap breaches. Melbourne went on to defeat the Leeds Rhinos, winners of the 2009 Super League Grand Final, in the 2010 World Club Challenge.

What happened in the Melbourne Storm’s 2016 season?

The finals series was when Melbourne really hit their straps, winning their first two finals by 28 and 30 points respectively. In the Grand Final, Storm defeated Parramatta 23-16 with Billy Slater named the Clive Churchill Medalist. Early in the season Matthew Johns, assistant coach, was stood down following his involvement in a sex scandal.

How many consecutive grand finals have the Melbourne Storm made?

The Melbourne Storm are the first side to make four consecutive grand finals since the Parramatta side did so in 1981–84. Melbourne five-eighth Brett Finch had a chance to break his premiership drought by defeating the side that terminated his contract in April 2009 when coach Daniel Anderson said he was not wanted at the Parramatta club.