How many Bronze Stars awarded Korean War?

There were 395,380 Bronze Stars awarded to World War II veterans; 30,359 for Korea; 170,626 for valor and 549,343 for achievement/service for Vietnam (the first time valor medals were tracked separately); and 2,459 for valor and 99,886 for achievement/service for Operation Iraqi Freedom.

What is the Bronze Star awarded for in war?

The Bronze Star, also known as the Bronze Star Medal or BSM for short, is a military medal awarded for heroic achievement, heroic service, meritorious achievement, or meritorious service in a combat zone. Wear of a “V” device on the medal is authorized for acts of valor in combat.

Who has received the Bronze Star?



How is a Bronze Star earned?

The Bronze Star Medal may be awarded for the following services: Meritorious Service in a combat zone (not necessarily combat action), an heroic achievement, or heroic service during combat operations against an enemy. Civilians are also authorized earning the Bronze Star as well.

Which is higher Bronze Star or Purple Heart?

The Bronze Star Medal (BSM) is a United States Armed Forces decoration awarded to members of the United States Armed Forces for either heroic achievement, heroic service, meritorious achievement, or meritorious service in a combat zone….

Bronze Star Medal
Next (lower) Purple Heart

What is the significance of a Bronze Star?

The Bronze Star is awarded for meritorious service or acts of valor while serving in combat operations. The Bronze Star is the fourth-highest combat award of the U.S. Armed Forces and the ninth-highest military award (including combat and non-combat) in order of precedence of U.S. Military decorations.

How do I find out why a Bronze Star was awarded?

Unfortunately, there is no name index for Bronze Star awards. The citations are issued at various levels of the military hierarchy. The Official Military Personnel File of a U.S. soldier will list the general order citation that includes the unit or command that issued the award.

What does a Bronze Star signify?

Who are the Bronze Star recipients of the Korean War?

BRONZE STAR RECIPIENTS. Authorized on February 4, 1944, the Bronze Star Medal is awarded to members of all branches of military service. The medal may be awarded either for meritorious service or for combat actions, in which case the “V” device is attached. loading…

What medals were awarded during the Korean War?

Korean Service 8. Congressional Medal of Honor 9. Silver Star 10. Bronze Star 11. US Army Good Conduct Ribbon 12. Prisoner Of War 13. Purple Heart 14. Korean Service Defense Ribbon 15. US National Defense Ribbon Return to Korean War Choices

What is the Bronze Star Medal?

The Medal of Honor. The Medal of Honor is the highest military honor presented for valor.

  • The Distinguished Service Cross,the Navy Cross and the Air Force Cross.
  • Distinguished Flying Cross.
  • The Bronze Star.
  • The Purple Heart. What are the top 10 Army medals? Can I wear my fathers medals? CAN I WEAR MY FAMILY MEDALS?
  • What was the Bronze Star Medal given for?

    The Bronze Star has been awarded since 1944 and can be given for acts of merit, heroism or meritorious service in combat that doesn’t involve flight. The medal has to be earned in an active combat zone, although there is some debate about the medal being given out quite liberally for meritorious service.