Which type of soil is erodible?

Soils with silt and fine or very fine sand are highly erodible.

What are the six levels of soil taxonomy?

These levels, in order from most general to most specific are: Order, Suborder, Great Group, Subgroup, family, and Series. Correct: Yes, the USDA Soil Taxonomy System consists of six levels. These levels, in order from most general to most specific are: Order, Suborder, Great Group, Subgroup, family, and Series.

Which soil texture is more erodible by water?

Loamy soils
Loamy soils are more susceptible to erosion because they are often less permeable, they lack stable aggregates, and they contain fine particles (silts and very fine sands) that are easily transported by water.

What is erodibility and Erosivity?

Conceptually, rainfall erosivity is the capacity of rain to produce erosion, whereas soil erodibility is the susceptibility of the soil to be eroded.

What are the different types of soil classification system?

The United States Department of Agriculture defines twelve major soil texture classifications ( sand, loamy sand, sandy loam, loam, silt loam, silt, sandy clay loam, clay loam, silty clay loam, sandy clay, silty clay, and clay). Soil textures are classified by the fractions of sand, silt, and clay in a soil.

What does AB mean in soil?


Map unit symbol Soil name
Ab Abney Road
Al Alberry
Ar Arlington
Bp Baptist Point

What is type AB and C soil?

Type B soil has medium unconfined compressive strength; between 0.5 and 1.5 tons per square foot. Examples of Type B soil include angular gravel, silt, silt loam, and soils that are fissured or near sources of vibration, but could otherwise be Type A. Type C soil is the least stable type of soil.

What is the difference between highly erodible soil and potentially highly eroded soil?

Highly Erodible soils cover 46% of the Township, while Potentially Highly Erodible Soils are found throughout 45% of the Township. Not Highly Erodible and undefined soils are found in just 9% of the Township area. Erosion within the Township is largely a function of slope and topography.

How many categories of soil erodibility are there?

Soil surface stability and subsoil dispersibility have been combined into 17 categories. These categories have been ranked using expert knowledge: the higher the number, the greater the overall inherent soil erodibility. Table 2 shows how these combinations were determined and their assigned rank. Table 4 describes the 17 categories. Photo 3.

Where can I find lists of highly erodible soil map units?

Official lists of highly erodible and potential highly erodible soil map units are maintained in the NRCS – Field Office Technical Guide. Policy and procedures for developing and maintaining the lists are given in part 511 of the National Food Security Act Manual.

How do you calculate erodibility index of soil?

Calculating Erodibility Index – The erodibility index (EI) for a soil map unit is determined by dividing the potential erodibility for the soil map unit by the loss tolerance (T). Soils vary in their susceptibility to erosion. The soil erodibility factor K is a measure of erodibility for a standard condition.