What are the symbols of election?

Symbols are used by parties in their campaigning, and printed on ballot papers where a voter must make a mark to vote for the associated party. One of their purposes is to facilitate voting by illiterate people, who cannot read candidates’ names on ballot papers.

Who is the present Chief Election Commissioner of Karnataka 2021?


Who is present Election Commissioner of Karnataka?

Sri Dr B. Basavaraju, I.A.S., Retd., is the Chief Election Commissioner of Karnataka State Election Commission.

Who is the first election commissioner of Karnataka?

V. S. Ramadevi
In office 26 November 1990 – 12 December 1990
Preceded by R. V. S. Peri Sastri
Succeeded by T. N. Seshan
Personal details

Why did the Election Commission of India issues the election symbols?

An order to provide for specification, reservation, choice and allotment of symbols at elections in Parliamentary and Assembly Constituencies, for the recognition of political parties in relation thereto and for matters connected therewith.

Who is the governor of Karnataka?

Thawar Chand GehlotKarnataka / Governor

WHO removes state election commissioner?

Chief Election Commissioner of India can be removed from his office by the president on the basis of a resolution passed to that effect by both the houses of parliament with a two-thirds majority in both the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha on the grounds of proved misbehaviour or incapacity.

Who is the current Chief Election Commissioner of India?

Chief Election Commissioner of India
Incumbent Sushil Chandra since 13 April 2021
Election Commission of India
Nominator Council of Ministers
Appointer President of India

Who was the first woman chief election commissioner in India?

Ramadevi was the first and only Woman Governor of Karnataka (1999-2002) and also holds the record of first Woman Chief Election Commissioner in india.