What are window requirements in Florida?
The Florida Building Code (FBC) requires windows to be impact-resistant or protected if located within one mile of the coast where the wind speed is 110 mph or greater. (Of course, even if your home is not located in this area, this may be a good idea.)
Do you have to replace windows in Florida with hurricane windows?
If you replace windows in your home, you MUST replace them with hurricane impact products unless you have hurricane shutters that are rated for the most up-to-date codes and regulations.
Do all windows in Florida have to be hurricane proof?
The easy answer is that according to Florida Building Code (FBC) all windows and doors must be protected if the building structure is within one mile of the coast where wind speed is in excess of 110 MPH.
When did Florida require impact windows?
Initially, the Florida Building Code went into effect in 2002. Still, it’s been updated every three years and may also be amended on an annual basis. Staying up to date with these changes is critical in giving your home or business the ultimate protection against the devastating impact of a hurricane.
Do you have to have a window in a bedroom in Florida?
Egress windows are required in every room in your house used for sleeping purposes, AKA in your bedrooms. They’re also required on any floor and in basements with habitable space— but as a Florida resident, you probably don’t have to worry about the basement part!
What is an egress window in Florida?
An egress window is a window designed to allow for easy, effective emergency escape and or rescue. Required by building codes in most states—including Florida–for any room considered a bedroom, these exist to make sure you’re never completely trapped in a room due to fire, flooding, or other disasters.
Do I need a permit to replace a window in Florida?
The simple answer is yes. In most cases, building permits are required for the installation of impact windows in Florida. This is especially true in South Florida – particularly Broward and Miami-Dade counties – which are classified High-Velocity Hurricane Zones (HVHZ).
What counties in Florida require impact windows?
This is an area consisting of Palm Beach County, Broward County, Miami-Dade County, and Monroe County. These zones require stronger impact products to meet higher wind speeds of 170 mph to 200 mph. Other areas in Florida require impact products or shutters that meet Wind-Borne Debris (WBD) certification.
Do you need a permit to replace windows in Florida?
The Florida Building Code stipulates that building permits are required for replacement of windows and sliding glass doors, as well as screen enclosures, storage sheds and carports of canvas or metal. Working without a permit is illegal and can result in fines, causing problems when you want to sell your house.
What makes a bedroom legal in Florida?
According to section 200 of the Florida Building Code, a bedroom is defined as a room that can be used for sleeping and that: For site-built dwellings has a minimum of 70 square feet of conditioned space.
What constitutes a legal bedroom in Florida?
Bedroom: Minimum 70 sq ft, closet, means of escape and rescue to the outside, door, and must be conditioned space (code requires heating for conditioned space).
What size is an egress window in Florida?
5.7 square feet
To qualify as an emergency escape and rescue opening under Florida codes, your egress windows need to have a minimum opening of 5.7 square feet in general, with that reduced to a mere 5 square feet for grade floor windows—that is, windows with a sill less than 3.6ft above or below a level ground floor.