Who is in the EU Commission?

The College of Commissioners is composed of the President of the Commission, eight Vice-Presidents, including three Executive Vice-Presidents, the High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, and 18 Commissioners, each responsible for a portfolio.

How is the EU Commission configured?

The Council of the European Union (informally known as the Council of Ministers) then nominates the other members of the Commission in agreement with the nominated President, and the 27 members as a team are then subject to a vote of approval by the European Parliament.

What are the main functions EU Commission?

The European Commission is the executive of the European Union. This means that it is responsible for initiating laws, enforcing the laws of the EU and managing the EU’s policies. It is made up of 27 commissioners (one from each member state) and is based in Brussels.

Who is the EU Commission accountable to?

Commissioners may be compulsorily retired by the Court of Justice, at the request of the Council or of the Commission itself, if they breach any of the above obligations or have been guilty of serious misconduct (Article 247 TFEU). The Commission is collectively accountable to Parliament under Article 234 TFEU.

Who is the current German EU commissioner?

College of Commissioners

President Ursula von der Leyen of Germany (EPP–CDU)
Executive Vice President and European Commissioner — Trade Valdis Dombrovskis of Latvia (EPP–V)
Vice President and European Commissioner — Values and Transparency Věra Jourová of Czech Republic (ALDE–ANO)

Who appoints the European Commission?

The European Commission is led by its President and the 26 Commissioners, one per country. The Commission President is elected for a 5-year term by the European Parliament, following the European elections. The European Council (EU heads of state or government) proposes a presidential candidate to the Parliament.

How is the European Commission voted into office?

What is the recovery and Resolution Directive (BRRD)?

The bank recovery and resolution directive (BRRD) was adopted in spring 2014 to provide authorities with comprehensive and effective arrangements to deal with failing banks at national level cooperation arrangements to tackle cross-border banking failures The directive requires banks to prepare recovery plans to overcome financial distress.

What is the EU Bank Resolution Directive?

The directive requires banks to prepare recovery plans to overcome financial distress. It also grants national authorities powers to ensure an orderly resolution of failing banks with minimal costs for taxpayers. The directive includes rules to set up a national resolution fund that must be established by each EU country.

What are the amendments to the BRRD?

On 23 November 2016 the Commission proposed amendments to the BRRD. The amendments include measures that will further strengthen the European resolution framework and the ability of relevant authorities to achieve resolution outcomes that are effective in safeguarding financial stability and public funds.

What are the functions of the Commission’s representations?

Commission Representations in Member States The Commission’s Representations perform various functions, including connecting with national, regional and local authorities organising visits of the President and the Commissioners