Who is the Africa footballer in the year 1993?

Abedi Pele
France Football award (1970–1994)

Year Rank Player
1993 1st Abedi Pele
2nd Tony Yeboah
3rd Rashidi Yekini
1994 1st George Weah

Who is the best African footballer of all time?

Top 10 greatest African Footballers of all-time

  • Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon)
  • Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast)
  • Mohamed Salah (Egypt)
  • Sadio Mane (Senegal)
  • Roger Milla (Cameroon)
  • Nwankwo Kanu (Nigeria)
  • Yaya Toure (Ivory Coast)
  • Abedi Ayew ‘Pele’ (Ghana)

Who was the best African Footballer of the Year 2009?

El Hadji Diouf from Senegal, Egypt’s Mohamed Salah and Ivorian icon Didier Drogba may all be CAF awards winners twice: 2001 and 2002; 2017 and 2018; 2006 and 2009 respectively, but the first player to have been named CAF African Player of the Year on two occasions was ex-Super Eagles of Nigeria captain, Nwankwo Kanu.

Who is the world best player in Africa?

With that in mind, Mirror Football ranks the best 10 African footballers of all time – excluding those who are still making their legacy.

  • 9) Nwankwo Kanu.
  • 8) Jay-Jay Okocha.
  • 6) Abedi Ayew ‘Pele’
  • 5) Essam El-Hadary.
  • 4) Didier Drogba.
  • 3) Samuel Eto’o.
  • 2) Roger Milla.
  • 1) George Weah.

Who is African Footballer of the Year 2021?

Mohamed Salah
1. Mohamed Salah. Salah’s 2021 can be split into two halves, although goals and match-winning contributions have been a consistent for the Egypt superstar across a magnificent calendar year in which he’s further established himself as Africa’s finest player.

Who won African Footballer of the Year 2021?

star Mohamed Salah
The International Federation of History and Statistics (IFFHS) announced that Liverpool and Egypt’s national football team star Mohamed Salah has won the African Player of the Year award 2021, while Al Ahly football team coach Pitso Mosimane won African Coach of the Year award 2021.

Who is Nigeria greatest footballer of all time?

Best Nigerian football players of all time

  • Austin Jay-Jay Okocha. Austin Okocha, better known as Jay-Jay, is a former Nigerian footballer known for his mesmerising skills.
  • Rashidi Yekini. Rashidi Yekini was one of the most successful Nigerian football players.
  • Sunday Oliseh.
  • Vincent Enyeama.
  • Finidi George.

Who is the current Africa Player of the Year?

Sadio Mane
Sadio Mane, Asisat Oshoala win 2019 African Player of the Year award.

Who won African Player of the Year 2020?

A great way to end the season. Edouard Mendy has won the ‘Best African International’ award at the Ghana Football Awards, it has been confirmed. The 29-year-old had quite the season during the 2020/21 campaign.

Who won the last African Footballer of the Year?

Mohamed Salah became the third Egyptian to win the BBC African Footballer of the Year after a stellar 2017. Following a record number of votes, the Liverpool star won ahead of Gabon’s Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Guinean Naby Keita, Sadio Mane of Senegal and Nigeria’s Victor Moses.

What happened to the African Footballer of the Year award?

The award was discontinued in 1995 after the European Footballer of the Year ( Ballon d’Or) was opened to players of non-European nationality, the award being given to George Weah that year. It had already been replaced by an official award given out by the Confederation of African Football since 1992.

Who is the first African Footballer of the year?

Mane beat Mohammed Salah and Riyad Mahrez to win im first African Footballer of the Year award. 30 players na dem dey di shortlist to be African Footballer of The Year.

How many times has Mo Salah won the African Footballer of the year?

Riyad Mahrez won his first award in 2016. Mohamed Salah won the award 2 times in a row in 2017 and 2018. ^ “African Player of the Year 1993”. Rsssf.com. 5 January 2001.

Who won the 2007 African Footballer of the year?

On 2 February 2008, Sevilla’s Frédéric Kanouté was named the 2007 African Footballer of the Year. Kanouté, who was born in France, is the first European-born player to win the award (he plays for his father’s native country of Mali).