Has any prime minister been assassinated in India?

Three prime ministers, namely Lal Bahadur Shastri, Indira Gandhi and Rajiv Gandhi (former prime minister) have been assassinated.

Was Rajiv Gandhi prime minister when assassinated?

May 21, 1991, Sriperumbudur, IndiaRajiv Gandhi / Assassinated

Which Indian prime minister was assassinated in 1984 by her own bodyguards?

prime minister Indira Gandhi
Indira Gandhi, the prime minister of India, is assassinated in New Delhi by two of her own bodyguards. Beant Singh and Satwant Singh, both Sikhs, emptied their guns into Gandhi as she walked to her office from an adjoining bungalow.

Who did LTTE assassinate?

Amirthalingam – Leading Sri Lankan Tamil politician and former Leader of the Opposition. A. Thangathurai- Former Tamil United Liberation Front (TULF) Member of Parliament for Trincomalee District. Alfred Duraiappah – Former Sri Lanka Freedom Party member of the parliament for Jaffna District and former mayor of Jaffna.

Who killed prime minister of India?

Indian Prime Minister Indira Gandhi was assassinated at 9:29 a.m. on 31 October 1984 at her residence in Safdarjung Road, New Delhi. She was killed by her Sikh bodyguards Satwant Singh and Beant Singh in the aftermath of Operation Blue Star.

Who shot at Rajiv Gandhi?

Assassination of Rajiv Gandhi
Deaths 16
Injured 43
Victims Rajiv Gandhi and at least 57 others
Perpetrator Thenmozhi Rajaratnam

Where Mahatma Gandhi was assassinated?

January 30, 1948, Birla House, New Delhi, IndiaMahatma Gandhi / Assassinated

Why Indira Gandhi shot dead?

Operation Blue Star was a large Indian military operation carried out between 1 and 8 June 1984, ordered by Indira Gandhi to remove leader Jarnail Singh Bhindranwale and his followers from the buildings of the Harmandir Sahib complex in Amritsar, Punjab.

Which country banned LTTE?

The LTTE is a separatist militant group that fought for a separate Tamil state in the north and east of Sri Lanka between 1976 and 2009. The rebel group has been banned by 33 countries, including the United States, United Kingdom, Canada, India, Malaysia, Sri Lanka and the 27 member nations of the European Union.