What is the highest federal pay grade?

The General Schedule (GS) is the predominant pay scale for federal employees, especially employees in professional, technical, administrative or clerical positions. The system consists of 15 grades, from GS-1, the lowest level, to GS-15, the highest level.

What is federal grade and step pay?

Each grade has 10 step rates (steps 1-10) that are each worth approximately 3 percent of the employee’s salary. Within-grade step increases are based on an acceptable level of performance and longevity (waiting periods of 1 year at steps 1-3, 2 years at steps 4-6, and 3 years at steps 7-9).

What is a federal wage grade employees?

The federal wage system — sometimes called the wage grade or prevailing rate system — is a pay-setting system covering federal employees paid by the hour. The aim is to make sure that federal trade, craft, and laboring employees in a local wage area who do the same kind of work get the same rate of pay.

What are federal pay scales?

Minimum Wage. The federal minimum wage is$7.25 per hour for workers covered by the FLSA.

  • Overtime Pay. Overtime pay of not less than one and one-half times the regular rate of pay is required after 40 hours of work in a workweek.
  • Fair Labor Standards Act.
  • Other Wage Laws.
  • Compliance Assistance Resources.
  • What are federal pay grades?

    2021 Annual Rates by GS Pay grade and Step.

  • Salary Charts&Pay Information:
  • SALARY TABLE 2021-GS (BASE) Check out the 2021 GS pay scale below.
  • SALARY TABLE 2021 – RUS.
  • 2020 Executive&Senior Level Employee Pay Tables
  • General Schedule (GS) How it Works.
  • 2021 Locality Payments.
  • Wage Grade (WG) How it Works.
  • What is the federal pay scale?

    The hourly pay of a GS-15 employee is $52.93 per hour. But the salary is limited to the Executive Schedule at level V and starts at $110,460 per year. The most significant annual federal wage in 2021 is $143,598. The G.S.15 pay scale also varies according to location.

    How do federal job grades work?

    Determining which grade is appropriate. If you’re just starting out in the workforce,and you have a high school diploma or as little as three months of general work experience,…

  • Steps. A “step” is a raise in salary. In the GS pay scale,each grade has 10 steps.
  • Additional resources