How many states are in Fiji?

14 provinces
Fiji is divided into 14 provinces, which are themselves composed of smaller administrative units, the basic one of which is the village (koro). At the head of a village is the turaga-ni-koro, elected or appointed by the villagers. Several koro forms a district (tikina) and several tikina make up a province or yasana.

What are the 14 provinces in Fiji?

There are 14 provinces in Fiji including Ba, Bua, Cakaudrove, Kadavu, Lau, Lomaiviti, Macuata, Nadroga-Navosa, Naitasiri, Namosi, Ra, Rewa, Serua, and Tailevu. But provinces can be broken up further into smaller administrative units with the most basic one being the village.

How many regions are in Fiji?

in the Fijian language), are the 14 administrative units into which the country is divided, particularly in relation to the provision of resources and services to the indigenous Fijian population by the Fijian Affairs Board….Provinces.

Order Province Office bearer
13. Serua Atunaisa Lacabuka
14. Tailevu Josefa Seruilagilagi

How is Fiji divided?

Fiji is divided administratively into four divisions, which are further subdivided into fourteen provinces; the self-governing island of Rotuma and its nearby islets lie outside any of the four divisions. Each division is headed by a Commissioner, appointed by the Fijian government.

Why is Suva the capital of Fiji?

In 1874, control of the Fiji Islands was ceded to the United Kingdom. In 1877, the colonial authorities decided to move the capital to Suva from Levuka, Ovalau, Lomaiviti, because Levuka’s location between a steep mountain and the sea made any expansion of the town impractical.

Is Fiji a poor country?

Poverty Data: Fiji In Fiji, 29.9% of the population lives below the national poverty line in 2019. In 2019, 100% has access to electricity in Fiji. For every 1,000 babies born in Fiji in 2019, 26 die before their 5th birthday.

Is Suva a province?

It is located on the southeast coast of the island of Viti Levu, in Rewa Province, Central Division. In 1877, it was decided to make Suva the capital of Fiji….Suva.

Suva सुवा Capital City of Fiji
Country Fiji
Island Viti Levu
Division Central Division

What is the capital of Fiji?

SuvaFiji / Capital

What country owns Fiji?

Fiji gained independence from British rule in October 1970 and established a parliamentary democracy.

What is the capital town of Fiji?

SuvaFiji / Capital
Visit Suva – The Heartbeat of the Pacific Suva, Fiji’s capital and largest city is located on Viti Levu’s south-eastern coast.

What is the biggest problem in Fiji?

The country now faces major environmental challenges, including deforestation, unsustainable fishing practices, and the introduction of invasive species, such as the crown-of-thorns starfish, that have led to the destruction of coral reefs.

What language is spoken in Fiji?

EnglishFiji Hindi
Fiji/Official languages