How many games did Geelong win in 2011?

The 2011 Geelong Football Club season was the club’s 112th season in the Australian Football League (AFL). Geelong finished the regular season in second position on the ladder with 19 wins and three losses, resulting in qualification for the 2011 AFL finals series.

When did Geelong win a grand final?

Geelong has a proud history, having won nine AFL and seven VFA premierships in its history. The Cats tasted success in 1925, 1931, 1937, 1951, 1952, 1963, 2007, 2009 and 2011. The club has also won flags at other levels, including the night cup, reserves, under 19 and VFA/VFL.

What is the best AFL game ever?

2005 – Sydney Swans vs West Coast There is a reason this Grand Final remains the highest-rated AFL game of all time. Having not won a Premiership since 1933, the valiant Sydney Swans closed the deal with a four-point margin.

Who beat Geelong in 2011?

2011 AFL Grand Final

Collingwood Geelong
12.9 (81) 18.11 (119)

Who kicked 6 goals in AFL grand final?

By early in the final term, Hawthorn led by over 100 points and, despite allowing Essendon the consolation of some late goals, still won by a then-record Grand Final margin of 83 points, Leigh Matthews kicked 6 goals and was credited with the mark of the game and kicked the goal of the year.

Who has kicked 6 goals in a grand final?

That’s exactly why Darren Jarman is seen as a great of the game. His heroics in the final quarter of the 1997 AFL Grand Final against St Kilda almost single-handedly gave the Crows their first AFL Premiership. Jarman kicked 5 of his 6 goals in the final quarter leading the Crows to a 31-point victory over the Saints.

Who is winning the AFL grand final?

Melbourne Western Bulldogs
Melbourne won the match by a 74-point margin, defeating the Western Bulldogs 140–66. Christian Petracca won the Norm Smith Medal….2021 AFL Grand Final.

Melbourne Western Bulldogs
21.14 (140) 10.6 (66)

How many grand finals has West Coast Eagles won?

four premierships
The West Coast Eagles are one of the most successful sporting clubs in Australian sport. Established in 1986, the Eagles compete in the Australian Football League and have won four premierships.

Who did Geelong beat in the 2011 AFL Grand Final?

The Cats had comfortable finals wins, over Hawthorn by 31 points and West Coast by 48 points, to qualify for the grand final. Collingwood and Geelong met twice during the 2011 home and away season, with Geelong winning both games; these were Collingwood’s only two losses for the home-and-away season.

Is Geelong the AFL’s Top Dog?

^ “Geelong confirmed as AFL’s top dogs”. The Australian. 2 October 2011. Archived from the original on 19 October 2011. Retrieved 6 October 2011. ^ Brodie, Will (28 September 2011).

Where did the 2011 AFL Grand Final take place?

The 2011 AFL Grand Final was an Australian rules football game contested between the Collingwood Football Club and the Geelong Football Club, held at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on 1 October 2011.

What happened in the Collingwood v Geelong match?

Collingwood’s Sharrod Wellingham kicked a long goal in play from 50m in the 7th minute – although replays indicated that the ball had shaved the inside of the goal post, and should have been awarded a behind. Hawkins for Geelong and Leigh Brown for Collingwood goaled from set shots in the 13th and 14th minutes respectively.