What are the 8 Chinese dialects?

Chinese Languages China has eight major dialect groups: Putonghua (Mandarin), Yue (Cantonese), Wu (Shanghainese), Minbei (Fuzhou), Minnan (Taiwanese), Xiang, Gan and Hakka and many sub-dialects. The language spoken in Beijing is often referred to as Mandarin or Putonghua.

What are the seven dialects of Chinese?

In general, dialects can be roughly classified into one of the seven large groups: Putonghua (Mandarin), Gan, Kejia (Hakka), Min, Wu, Xiang, and Yue (Cantonese). Each language group contains a large number of dialects.

What are the 3 dialects of Chinese?

The official dialect of China is Mandarin, also call “Putonghua”. More than 70% of the Chinese population speaks Mandarin, but there are also several other major dialects in use in China: Yue (Cantonese), Xiang (Hunanese), Min dialect, Gan dialect, Wu dialect, and Kejia or Hakka dialect.

What are the five dialects of Chinese?

How Many Chinese Dialects Are There?

  • Mandarin.
  • Cantonese.
  • Min.
  • Hakka.
  • Gan.
  • Xiang.
  • Wu Chinese.

How many dialects are there in Chinese?

Linguists generally accept that there are seven major modern Chinese dialect groups: Mandarin, Wu, Xiang, Gan, Kejia, Min and Yue. The primary divide is between Mandarin and all of the rest dialect groups, which are all southern dialects.

Is Putonghua a dialect?

In Mainland China, there is a standardised version of this dialect called Putonghua, literally ‘common language’. This is a somewhat artificial dialect based on the Northeastern version of standard Mandarin, promoted by the Chinese government to enable people across the mainland to communicate.

How many dialects are in Mandarin?

This is probably the most studied area of Chinese dialect differentiation. Based on the distinctions online, there are 93 dialects of Mandarin.

How different are the Chinese dialects?

Mandarin (in China and Taiwan) and the dialects Although written in the common, non-phonetic Chinese characters, the actual pronunciation in each dialect differs markedly, including in the tones used. Standard Mandarin has only four tones; most of the other dialects of Chinese have more.

Does English have dialects?

The major native dialects of English are often divided by linguists into three general categories: the British Isles dialects, those of North America, and those of Australasia. Dialects can be associated not only with place but also with particular social groups.

What does Hanyu mean Chinese?

Hànyǔ, the Chinese name for the main Chinese language or language of the Han people. Hanyu pinyin, the official romanization system for Standard Chinese in mainland China and to some extent in Taiwan and Singapore.

Is Mandarin and Putonghua same?

Putonghua, also called Standard Mandarin, is mainland China’s official language. As such, it’s also the version of Chinese that most international students learn.

Is Teochew a dialect?

Teochew (Chinese: 潮州話; pinyin: Cháozhōuhuà, Chinese: 潮汕話; pinyin: Cháoshànhuà, Chinese: 潮語; pinyin: Cháoyǔ, Chaozhou dialect: Diê⁵ziu¹ uê⁷, Shantou dialect: Dio⁵ziu¹ uê⁷) is a dialect of Chaoshan Min, a Southern Min language, that is spoken by the Teochew people in the Chaoshan region of eastern Guangdong and by their …

Why does China have so many dialects?

There not really languages, but dialects. The reason why China has so many is because China is really big and has many regions. Colloquial phrases and slang are really influenced by the people living in that area. It’s no different than English.

What other languages do Chinese speak?

Mandarin Chinese,官话,官話 Beijing Mandarin,北京官话,北京官話 Standard Chinese,普通话,普通話 Singaporean Mandarin,新加坡华语,新加坡華語 Malaysian Mandarin,马来西亚华语,馬來西亞華語 Taiwanese Mandarin,台湾华语,臺灣華語 Taipei Mandarin,台北腔/国语,臺北腔/國語 Northeastern Mandarin,.

  • Jin Chinese,晋语,晉語
  • Wu Chinese,吴语,吳語 Shanghainese,上海话,上海話
  • Huizhou Chinese,徽语,徽語
  • What are the different types of Chinese languages?

    As mentioned earlier,Mandarin,or Putonghua,can be heard all over China as it is the official language.

  • The Gan dialect can be heard in western parts of China.
  • Kejia,or Hakka,is the language of Hakka people who are spread out across pockets in Taiwan,Guangdong,Jiangxi,Guizhou,and beyond.
  • What are the official languages in China?

    National Language of China: Standard Chinese. Ancient chinese characters carved in stone stamper.

  • Official Languages of China. Another language that has official status in China is Cantonese.
  • Regional Languages of China.
  • Foreign Languages Spoken in China.
  • Sign Language in China.